Delayed Gratification and what it’ll Get You

the art and balance of choosing your time and energy

Delayed Gratification and what it’ll Get You

Most recently, I was invited to a girls’ hangout—the groupchat was popping and already plans were being made left to right. I felt like a wet towel when i said I couldn’t attend because I had plans.

In reality, I was at home editing on my latest YouTube video.

And it’s funny because I think about what can now bring me joy, and in that moment, it was being at home and editing my YouTube content late into the night with a cup of warm decaffeinated tea. I didn’t feel like spending another $60 in San Francisco, paying for Ubers and for an expensive dinner I didn’t want to go to.

I wanted to hone my editing skills. My big picture was that I wanted to get back into YouTube consistently, and create content on that platform.

Watch the marshmellow test study to understand more about delayed gratification.

My instant gratification was that I could go out for 4-5 hours out of guilt, maybe have a good time, get some drinks, and then not have accomplished anything with my goal.

I guess what I’m saying is that if you’re working towards anything, a goal, a business, or a new life, you have to pick your yes’s and your no’s. Pick your long term goal over an immediate achievable goal. Choose the long game than the short one.

Asian Wander Women is product of delayed gratification. Members may not truly know what goes behind running an online free community, but we have poured thousands of hours into building this space for Asian women and we do it for free. Perhaps we’re not a huge over night success, but we are the first of its kind and we’re diversifying the face of travel.

I continue to work on the community because I believe the mission is important; it has been a lot of delayed gratification to get it to where it is, but I love what I’m doing with AWW and the value it brings to Asian women in the diaspora. We didn’t have instant success, nor did I quit when we didn’t—simply because I believed in the mission.

Of course, I don’t say no to everything as I still enjoy life. I just don’t do everything and no longer feel fomo because my vision is clear. I may not show up to everything, but I vowed to show up when it’s important and consistenly work on something when it aligns with my values.

"I hated every minute of my training but I said, 'Don't quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.'" - Muhammud Ali

Brain Snacks 🧠

  • The free(ish) future of travel is here. But is it worth the hype? - Kindred is a house-swapping platform that seems like quite a luxury alternative to other “free” options like Trusted Housesitters. The most famous example of this was in the film “The Holiday,” where an England-based Kate Winslet and Los Angeles-based Cameron Diaz swap houses.

  • Introducing the O Type Human - O is a new employee type. If you’re a generalist and feeling alone, don’t. Os “always close the loop, integrating everything we touch: wholeness is the goal. We're not "jacks of all trades, masters of none." They’re masters of complexity and integration.

Opportunities and Job Boards 📚

  • Get your business featured in an AWW interview - add yourself to the AWW Networking Directory. Starting June, we’ll be interviewing and showcasing members from AWW via articles and newsletter features

  • AfriSplash Remotely - Africa’s #1 remote work community for hiring, talent, and remote work related to Africa’s tech scene

  • NoDesk has 300 remote job openings - Find remote jobs and connect with companies that offer you the freedom to work remotely from home or places around the world.

Upcoming Events

Envisioning your Life & Career Abroad: How to Start Working in your Dream Country in 2024
June 5th, 2024 from 6-7:30 am PST / 9-10:30 am EST
📍 online

For this immersive, hands-on workshop, we’ll be partnering up with Lucy Jeon, the founder of HeyGlobally and Work Abroad Coach. She’s helped over 100+ clients and students from over 25 countries get jobs abroad with visa sponsorship and remote jobs. During the workshop, you’ll build your own strategy using her frameworks and diving into discussion with other peers.

📢 Hosting an IRL meetup in a city and want to share in our newsletter? Email us at [email protected] or respond to this newsletter.