So much of life happens outside a job

Remote opportunities, coliving in San Francisco, and events

Foreword by Mildred (@mildredlike/mildredlike.com)

I quit my job in January with nothing planned other than a sheer desire to live a better life. For me that looks like following my curiosity and intuition, and while doing that discovering my loves and hates. In other words, I’m finding myself. Cringe.

Of course I will address the privilege of being able to be without work for a long period of time and not be shitting bricks. But god I love being unemployed.

Things I am NOT doing while being unemployed:

  • Setting morning alarms

  • Feeling drained and burnt out

  • Considering stakeholders

Thing I AM doing while being unemployed:

  • Doing things I want to do when I want to do them

  • Baking

  • Trying to get my motorcycle license having never been on a motorcycle and then getting kicked out halfway

The Global Convoy crew drove the Pan-American Highway in an American school bus. I joined them in Chile and we finished in Ushuaia, Argentina. This was taken at Patagonia National Park.

So much of life happens outside of employment! That may sound obvious but I don’t just mean weekends and holidays, I mean the things you do when you’re unemployed. Isn’t there a thing employers used to ask, “What did you do between this job and this job?” and the answer they probably wanted to hear is that you upskilled, took courses, realised your love for marketing NFTs as a way to democratise the art scene etc… No!!! You know what I did? I went on holiday and swam in the sea, read a book or two because I do not live to work. My LinkedIn profile will never be able to capture my nuances as a person, and the skills I learn everyday outside of work. A holiday with my extended family teaches me patience. Imply from that whatever you’d like :) 

And honestly… being unemployed in the summer is like being back at school and breaking for the summer. It’s amazing. 

Opportunities and Highlights

🟢 IFundWomen Coaching Program Manager (remote) - IFundWomen seeks a detail-oriented and organized Coaching Program Manager to support our coaching team. This role involves planning and executing virtual IFundWomen workshops

🧑‍🚀 Chief of Staff to Mother Ventures - they’re looking for someone to source deals, fundraising, events, content creation, business development, working with our portfolio companies, market mapping/investment memos, investment research and due diligence

✍️ Futures Accelerator for Journalists and Writers - The program offers rising Asian Pacific entertainment and business journalists exposure, promotion, mentorship, and masterclasses from industry veterans. 1:1 mentorship, masterclasses, and amplification from top journalists and media executives, hosted by Madison Wells, Forbes, and Rotten Tomatoes

Have 7+ years of experience in GTM or growth? Sign up for Singaporean’s startup Wizly to become a domain expert. You can monetise your knowledge through recurring revenue, advisory calls, and project work

🧗 Interview with Digital Nomad Ariel Fu who works in venture capital - Ari shares her experiences nomading and coliving in Bay Area, how she intentionally made her plans to travel and network in one of the most expensive cities, and why she’s headed next to Bansko, Bulgaria. Connect with her here

🎙️ Get a job abroad so you can live and work where you feel happiest: Lucy Jeon, founder of HeyGlobally, and Work Abroad Expert has helped over 100 clients strategize and find their dream life abroad. She’s coached and found interesting pathways for her clients to take while making the transition. She has a signature course, group cohort, and consulting and 1:1 services.

Reads I Liked this Month 📚

  • Vital Moments in LGBTQ+ Labour History - Happy Pride Month! Here are some people and moments that set the scene for working as a queer person in America.

  • What is Fractional Work? - Have you heard of ‘fractional work’? Aimed at senior professionals, this way of working is becoming more popular for experts who would rather work less hours, or companies who can’t afford a full time employee.

  • A rant on nothing making sense - This is probably the only thing that makes sense today. A rant by Shalom Auslander detailing things that are so normal to us in our day to day lives but when written down are truly bizarre and encompassing what it’s like to live today.

You must be in our Asian Wander Women facebook group to RSVP.

Upcoming Events

June Sip & Social in Taipei 🇹🇼
⏰ June 29th, 2024 at 8 pm TPE
Join AWWs for a night of good chats and great company in Dongmen, Taipei. We’ll be meeting at Learn Bar to hangout and make new friends! You’ll be need to be a part of the Asian Wander Women Facebook group to access and RSVP for the event.

San Francisco Hangout: Summer Bouquets and Bubbly 🥂
⏰ July 27, 2024 from 1-3:30 pm PST
Come hang out in San Francisco! We will be creating gorgeous flower arrangements, rearranging them into our own beautiful summer bouquets, and hanging out. Space is currently limited to 7 so please RSVP and grab your ticket in advance.